top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKim Hansen

04 The Great Abyss

What is it, why is it, and why do I want to go to it so badly?

Hey! Long time no see. Or talk I guess. Or rant really. As a viewer, you read and don't do much talking to my blog posts. At least I hope you don't. Anyways, I'm back! After two weeks of writing, editing, revising, and a few tears, I have submitted all my college applications!


If you haven't already guessed, the abyss I refer to above is college. Just like an abyss, college is mysterious, humongous, and filled with potential obstacles. However, as scary as college is, it's also promising. A future is waiting for me. It may be filled with regret or my greatest dreams. Either way, I'm looking forward to it. In fact, I'm particularly looking forward to the one track curriculum colleges provide. Here at Samohi, I only have one or two classes that appeal to my passion. But in college, once I get my core classes out of the way, everything I do revolves around my major.


Application Advice

Now that I'm done with college applications, there are a few things I wish I understood before I applied to colleges. First, write a timeline early on and stick to it. I did use check lists and calendars to manage my time, but it still wasn't enough. I wish I had started them earlier. That way, I would've had more time to revise my drafts and get them to the perfect product. However, even without that advice, I liked most if not all the essays I submitted for college and can confidently say I'm happy with my applications.


Now what?

Now that the hardest part is over, I must wait. Ewww. Two months of marinating in my own fears and self doubt, what could be better. At least this will be during the school year so my homework projects can distract me. My first college decision is in early February. Fingers crossed I get in!


Now before I leave, a gif to summarize my state of mind during essay writing.

This gif features Bill Hader, one of my favorite people. This was taken from an SNL sketch, the only things getting me through this month. Thanks for reading and have a great day!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page